Automotive Repair & Maintenance Help

Need help troubleshooting automotive repair, maintenance or estimating labor for a repair? We have a brand new resource just for you - Chilton Library.
 
These are just a few of Chilton Library’s most popular features:

• Maintenance and specification tables for unique data about your vehicle
• Step-by-step service/repair features
• Labor estimating tool to confidently determine important repairs
• Diagrams to help explain system operations
• Close-up photographs and illustrations
• ASE test prep quizzes for the most popular certification exams
• A print button which allows you to easily print what you need

Click here to check it out right now!

Get New Library Materials Without Leaving Home

When the weather interferes with getting to the library -- or anytime -- remember our vast e-library.

We've got audio books, e-books, music, magazines, and even streaming independent films. And if that's not enough, we've got online databases for everything from Consumer Reports to genealogy and newspapers to reference books. You can even take an online class! Explore hundreds of options from the culinary arts to home improvement; from software and computer graphics to reading, writing, and languages; or medical billing to domestic violence counseling.

We want to see you at the library, but when you can't make it in or when you want something extra, check out all we have to offer online Start your search here.

History resources

Whether you're in school working on a history project or just want to find some more information about a historical event, place, or figure, The Brentwood Library has something for you.

World History in Context has comprehensive coverage of the most-studied topics, from the arrival of Vikings in North America to Vietnam, Watergate, and the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq. It includes a broad collection of scholarly materials, news and magazine articles, images, videos, and primary source documents.

U.S. History in Context provides the same breadth of materials as World History in Context, but with a focus on American History. You can even search both World History in Context and U.S. History in Context at the same time by using the search bar at the top of either resource.


If it's Tennessee history you're after, check out the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture. This electronic resource is maintained by the University of Tennessee Press and contains not only text articles, but images, video, audio, and interactive slideshows.


If you're interested in local history, we've got that too! Check out some of the links on our Local History page or come in and visit the Brentwood Room where we house many print local history materials.


All of these resources (with the exception of local history) can be found under the History section of Databases and Online Resources on the library website. All are available to use either in the library (either at one of our computers or on your own device) or from the comfort of your own home. All you need is your library card!

Language Learning

Looking to learn a new language or brush up on your skills?  The library offers many resources that can help.

Mango Languages, Rocket Languages, and Powerspeak Languages all offer interactive virtual learning experiences.  You can learn through listening, speaking, and playing interactive games.  Simply create an account and get started learning the language you want!  Even better, these resources can be used from the comfort of your own home if you have a library card.  Check them out on The Brentwood Library website.

If you know Spanish or French and are looking for opportunities to practice speaking, check out our Conversational Spanish and French classes.  Please note that these are not classes for beginners.  For more information, contact Robyn Zandi at 371-009- x8510.

Everyone learns in a different way, so it's important to check out each resource for yourself and decide what will work best for you.

New database resource for Literature

The Brentwood Library has added a great new eResource to our database collection, just in time for students finishing up those semester projects and papers!  Artemis Literary Sources is a one-stop shop for all our literature electronic sources.  It covers Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Scribner Writers Series on GVRL and Twayne's Author Series.  Artemis has a unique searching interface that lets you view search results by content type and term frequency with cool graphic representations.  Try it today!  Click here to access the resource, or you can find Artemis on our website by going to the Databases and Online Resources page and clicking on the Books & Authors section.

FREE Online Language Classes for Brentwood Library Members

Want to learn a new language? Brentwood Library members can take FREE language classes online! The library subscribes to Mango, an online language learning lab, so our members can use Mango for free. Create a Mango account, take language classes, save your progress, and learn to speak Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian, and more. You don't even have to be at the library to use Mango. You can log in to Mango anywhere, 24 hours a day! If you need help creating an account, please ask a librarian.

Genealogy Class: U.S. Census Records

Discover the wealth of information found in U.S. census records, and fill in the gaps on your family tree. Maybe you’ll find out that your grandfather was a home owner, a plumber, and came from Germany in 1923... or that your great-grandmother had 10 children and was married in 1910. Federal and State census records will be discussed. Space at this free class is limited, so please register now!

Date: Monday, September 9

Time: 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Registration: Online - Click Here!

Use your library card to read magazines on your phone or iPad for FREE!

Have you  heard about Zinio? With Zinio, you can use your library card to read magazines on your e-reader, smart phone, and computer for FREE! Choose from popular titles like Cosmopolitan, Forbes, Country Living, Esquire, Martha Stewart Living, US Weekly, and many more.

 

Once you've created a free Zinio account, the magazine will stay in your reading list until you delete it--there's no need to worry about your checkout expiring.

 

Try it today, and let us know what you think!

 

 

Advanced Genealogy Class

Are you ready to jump across the pond? Learn how to trace your family tree back to the “old country.” This free class is for those who have a basic knowledge of genealogy and are ready to find out where their ancestors came from. European countries as well as Canada will be covered.

Date: Monday, May 6
Time: 10:00 - 12:00
Presenter: Holly Hebert, Reference Librarian
Registration: Online - Click Here

Free Genealogy Database Class

Discover previously unknown branches of your family tree with our new genealogy database, Fold3! Class time will include instruction and time for exploration. This resource is from Ancestry.com. It has several areas of interest, including:

• African American Archives
• American Revolution Archives
• Native American Archives
• U.S. Bureau of Investigation Case File Archives
• World War II Archives

Space is limited and registration is required, so please register today!

Date: Tuesday, March 5
Time: 1:30 - 3:30 p.m.
Registration: Online - Click Here

Free Genealogy Class

Discover new branches of your family tree with our new genealogy database, Fold3! Class time will include instruction and time for exploration. This resource is from Ancestry.com. It has several areas of interest, including:

• African American Archives
• American Revolution Archives
• Native American Archives
• U.S. Bureau of Investigation Case File Archives
• World War II Archives

For your convenience, we're offering this class on two days so you can choose the one that fits your schedule best. Space is limited and registration is required, so please register today!

Date: Tuesday, February 5
Time: 10:00 - 12:00
Registration: Online

Date: Thursday, February 7
Time: 6:00 - 8:00 p.m.
Registration: Online

Another Reason to Love Library Databases: Find Books Similar to Your Favorites!

Did you love Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn? Or perhaps you're #87 on the hold list for Gone Girl, and you'd like to read something similar while you wait? Either way, the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) has you covered. They can help you find novels similar to Gone Girl! Here's how:

• Go to the Brentwood Library's webpage.
• Click "Updated Databases and Online Resources" in the left sidebar.
• Scroll down, and click on the TEL icon at the bottom of the page.
• Choose the "Books and Authors" database.
• Use the search bar at the top of the page to search for Gone Girl.
• This will lead to a page with lots of info about the book Gone Girl, including a list of recommended similar titles.

Try out the Books and Authors database today, and find great new books similar to your favorites!

LearningExpress will be temporarily down for planned maintenance.

LearningExpress Library will be down for planned maintenance from 7:00 p.m. tonight until 8:00 a.m. tomorrow morning. Thank you for your patience, and we apologize for any inconvenience.

If you've never used LearningExpress Library, please try it out tomorrow! LearningExpress Library is a comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to students and adult learners succeed on academic or licensing tests. You’ll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of test results. You can create your own individual username and password. This will let you keep track of the tests you take and track your progress. You can access LearningExpress Library from our website, or click here.

New E-Resource: MyGovernment

Introducing the newest addition to The Brentwood Library's databases and online resources: MyGovernment. It's a fast, easy way to get information about elected officials.

If you're like many citizens, you have no idea who your elected officials are, you don't know how to contact them, and you just don't have the time to find out. Don't be in the dark, get the info you need about your representatives!

Click on the "Databases & Online Resources" tab, then on the "Government & Elections" link to access this resource. Questions? Call the Reference Desk at 391-0090.

Databases Facelift

The Databases page has undergone a facelift! You'll find that we've reorganized our Databases page to make it easier to use. Resources are organized by subject matter, and premium databases available exclusively to our Brentwood Library patrons are highlighted in addition to free web resources. We think you'll like it!

Click on the Databases tab on the left hand side of the Library's home page check it out.

Oxford English Dictionary

The OED is the definitive English language authority. Think you can rely on the Internet for your English needs? Think again. OED is the most complete record of the English language ever assembled, and The Brentwood Library has it. Why waste time searching elsewhere? Sure, you might get lucky with a Google search. But only OED gives you complete etymologies. Plus, you can trust it will be accurate. Need I say more?

Get your word fix on our Databases page.

Consumer Reports

Are you trying to decide what to buy? The Brentwood Library offers you 24/7 access to Consumer Reports! Get the past four years of ratings, the current issue of the magazine, and user reviews. You can even access it from home. Click here and enter you library card number for login info.

Naxos

Did you catch this article in the Tennessean about Naxos? This Franklin-based company has a huge catalog of music, including classical, jazz and folk.

And the Brentwood Library makes it available to you from any computer! Go to Naxos Music Library and login with your library card number. You can listen to music on your computer, discover new artists and even create your own playlists!
There's even a section for kids to learn more about the orchestra! Under Junior Section, click on "Meet the Instruments of the Orchestra".

Questions? Contact the Reference Desk by email or call 371-0090 ext 820.

Career Help Resources from Tutor.com

Finding a new job can be tricky, whether you’re looking for a part-time gig between semesters or the next step in your career. Fortunately, Tutor.com’s SkillsCenter has hundreds of resources to help you with every step, including:

• exploring new career paths




• putting together your resume




• writing a cover letter




• finding job listings near you




• preparing for interviews
  

You can access this information anytime. It’s easy:

1. Go to tutor.com/brentwood. Login with your library card number.




2. Click on Adult Education and Career Center




3. Select any of the resources under Adult Services.
   

Once you’ve found a career opportunity, you can download sample resumes, resume templates, and interview tips to help you help you ace your first meeting with your future boss!

If you need pointers and advice, Career Help Specialists are available and ready to help. They can review your resume or proofread a cover letter to make sure it’s just right, or find open jobs in your neighborhood.

Questions? Email the Reference Desk or call us at 371-0090, ext 820.

Compare Mutual Funds with Morningstar

Morningstar Investment Research Center gives you access to information on thousands of stocks and mutual funds. It also has new tools to make your financial decisions easier, including a way to directly compare different mutual funds.

1. Login to Morningstar with your library card number.



2. Under Funds, click on Fund Compare.
   



3. Enter the ticker or name of the funds.



4. Click on View Report to see a side-by-side comparison.
   

You can also click on Create PDF to get a printer-friendly version with even more details.


For additional tips on how to use Morningstar, register today for the upcoming online training sessions on Thursday, July 1 at 11 a.m. Register by sending an email to mailto:librarytraining@morningstar.com

Please mention The Brentwood Library in your email; you'll get an response with further instructions.


Questions? Email or call the Reference Desk at 371-0090, ext 820.